Yeah Yeah Yeahs Unveil Fourth Album Mosquito

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs have announced their fourth album is going to be called Mosquito and will be out April 15.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs

James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem fame produced one track - with the others split between by Dave Sitek and Nick Launay.

"We would love for this music to make our fans feeeeel something, for it to stir some shit up inside of them, whatever that may be," Karen O remarked. "SO much feeling went into this record, it was the rope ladder thrown down into the ditch for us to climb up and dust ourselves off. I hope others can climb up it too; we're excited to share the good vibes."

The band took a more playful, LO-FI approach to songwriting according to the frontwoman.

"I think this record has more moodier and tripped-out songs than you've ever heard from us," she continued. "You might catch some roots reggae and minimalist psychedelia influences in there."

Since 2009's It's Blitz Karen O has co- created a psycho-opera Stop The Virgens, collaborated with Trent Reznor for Immigrant Song on The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo soundtrack, recorded Strange Love for the Frankenweenie soundtrack, and sang on songs with Santigold, Swans and David Lynch meanwhile guitarist Nick Zinner curated, composed and led an orchestral work titled 41 Strings both in NYC and the Sydney Opera House and Drummer Brian Chase is releasing an album of his solo project, Drums & Drones, later this year.

See a teaser below:

Meanwhile the choice of cover art is gaining more than a few raised eyebrows:


Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Now Playing

To listen live, choose your preferred location: